I wanna be a stick chick.

I do not have a stellar track record on weight loss.

Let’s take a look:

In 1986, I made a resolution to lose weight.

In 1987, I made a resolution to lose weight.

Hold on, maybe this will go quicker: From 1986 through 2014, I made a resolution that looked something like this: I’d like to lose ____ pounds (the actual amount depended on the year and the sheer volume of salty snacks that had been stuffed into my stocking. Thanks, Santa (AKA me)).

In 1986: Fail

In 1987, 1988, 1989: fail.

You get the picture.

I rationalize it though. At least I lose and gain the same number of pounds every year. Those babies are familiar. “Hey, there you are again! Welcome back, you cute little mass of fat cells, you.”

This year, however, is different.

And I’ll tell you why.

My reasons are different. My goals are different. Instead of some vague out there goal of wanting to lose the weight so I can be cute (yeah, that ship has sailed) or training for a sport that’s beyond my pigeon toed capabilities (think triathlon training that took out a knee a few years back). This year I have some challenging goals – but they’re within reach – and I’m super excited about them.

I even did research. I plugged in “Fit over 40” for some ideas and inspiration. The first thing that came up was a series of Pinterest pics labeled “Fit and fabulous over 40.” I guess fabulous (according to Pinterest), means fit, tan and ahem… buxom. I don’t know how that happens, but I see it all the time. Before pics of heavy, pale and flat chested women. After pics of women who are now tan, slender and busty. How did they move those pounds around so gloriously?

I’m skeptical of my own success in that area.

In fact, any buxomness I may have had will disappear as I lose weight. I know this and I’ve embraced it.

Hence, my weight loss journey will be documented on… yes… our appropriately named StickChick blog.

To read the rest of this post and see my killer stick figure comic strip, click here. And by the way, this is a journey I’m taking with Sam, our 23-year-old daughter. She will be writing too and she’s a fabulous writer. Please consider signing up to receive the blog (here again) and commenting as you feel like it. We would love your support and we hope you’ll get a kick out of the ride!

This entry was posted in Elsa Kok Colopy, fit and fabulous, fit over 40, Mother daughter weight loss, New Year's resolutions, Setting fitness goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

